Cheers to the New Year!

I realize it may be cliché to do a Year in Review post, but I am glad I decided to. I started by looking through facebook photos to find the ones that highlighted the milestones. It was through this process that I realized what a great and eventful year it’s been.

  • The new year was brought in peacefully–I was asleep by 9:30 NYE. Nick and I made a trip to Florida to see my parents and I was lucky enough to get there twice this year!
  • In February, my handsome nephew was born and I was thrilled! I had to wait until Easter to meet him, but the love was instantaneous!

11118836_673073663651_7827459180790458074_n

  • I finished up school in May (finally)–made it through final reviews, Portfolio Presentations, and graduation!! School was hard, but the lessons I learned, about design and myself, are ones I will take with me forever. I made the most amazing friends during my time at Temple and created memories that I know will last forever.
  • Of course this began a brand new chapter: finding a job. I took a couple of weeks off, then went on about 10-11 interviews over the course of a month. I got two job offers and, at the cost of passing the first up before getting an answer from the second, I went with my gut and was offered and accepted a position at MKJ Creative!
  • July 4th was spent with Nick’s family down in Rehoboth and two days later, Nick and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary! Going forth, we are using the date we had our first date as our marker; I am not okay with ignoring the first couple months we were together haha.

11059916_10205197000392754_2385043923244603407_n

  • That same day, July 6, I started work! It’s been an absolute blessing working at MKJ. I now work from home every day, I love the people I work with and the work that we do. I am so grateful that on Sunday night, when I think about having to work the next day, all I have to do is remind myself of what my job is… then I realize I still get to get up and do what I love. I may never make a ton of money, but that feeling is worth more than any paycheck.
  • In August, after many apartment tours, Nick and I moved in together in Wilmington, DE. It has been such a wonderful experience so far and I couldn’t be happier that we took that step. I have learned so much about him, myself, and us. These first few months have been great and I can’t wait for the years to come!

11866322_10153167004375829_167588682305347848_n

  • We welcomed a new little girl into our family. Harley Quinn was found by Nick’s sister’s coworker on the side of the road at just 8 weeks old. She was definitely rough around the edges, but is growing into a healthy, loving kitty (though still rough around the edges).
  • The fall was pretty quiet, busy with work and getting settled in, but I was able to fly down to surprise my mom on Thanksgiving this year! Of course she was thrilled and I am always happy to see my parents (and brother!).

12308009_10208533078623878_1337354629938471254_o

  • I was all over the holiday season, of course. Nick and I got my first real Christmas tree and I had a blast decorating and getting ready for the holidays! Christmas itself was much needed and it was so wonderful to be with everyone for the day!

12440524_10208749783801372_7559733010186990666_o

Tonight, we will be ringing in the New Year with friends at the shore–something I am very excited for.

Now to briefly touch on the coming year: 2016.

I tend to make resolutions every year, but I realized that there is so much I would want for the year ahead. So here it is:

My New Year’s Resolution is to keep making resolutions. Not just on January 1, but all throughout the year. I know 2016 is going to be a big one–I can feel it. There are so many things I’d love to see happen: to keep growing, evolving, and learning. I want to improve my daily life, my relationships, and my overall outlook.

So this New Year, I resolve to keep challenging myself, so I can break out of my comfort zone and reach new heights. 

Have a Happy and Safe New Year everyone! Here is to the next 365 days of this wonderful life!

~Namaste~

Leave a Reply

