Update II: 30 Day Fitness

In light of my father asking me if I am still keeping up with my 30 day fitness challenges or if that was “kiboshed,” I figured it would be a good idea to write another update and actually share this one.

So I just finished Day 10 of my workouts. I am one day behind with the Abs Challenge and two days behind with the Squat challenge due to some unforeseen circumstances and obligations. However, I began my workout today feeling wonderful. Even after 10 days, I feel so much stronger in my core and legs. I am still getting a nice workout, but it is definitely not as hard as it was when I first started. It is very different from Insanity because the workouts are shorter (and much easier), but I have different goals this time.

Because I am given a set amount of reps for each workout, I started counting up for half and then counting down the rest. It’s a tiny mind trick but it is so nice to say “10, 9, 8, 7…” as opposed to “97, 98, 99, 100.” I also get the satisfaction of then realizing how many reps I just did.

The increased strength after the first 10 days means I want to kick things up a bit (don’t want to get too far ahead of myself–I have a ways to go yet). So I am hoping to get to at least one yoga class this week. It has been months and I am dying to get back to it. I want that to be part of my weekly routine, so I feel ready to start.

We leave for Puerto Rico two weeks from today (eeek!) so that means I will be finishing my challenges when I am there. I am glad it worked out that way because, in addition to getting in some serious relaxation time, I want this vacation to be an active one. I want to enjoy every second and come out feeling both relaxed and very positive about my health endeavors.

In addition to working out every day, I have replaced almost all my drinks with water, which I feel really good about. I am making better decisions for breakfast, snacks, and especially lunch; I was over-eating at lunchtime since I work from home and everything is at my fingertips. Dinner gets a bit more liberal, but I end up not eating as much, so it works out.

I don’t know if this a direct result of working out every day–I think it’s a combination of many things, but I just want to add that I am in a very good place right now. I feel happy and positive and so excited for the days, weeks, and months ahead. I really think 2016 is going to be a good one and I am happy to be starting it off so positively.

~Namaste~

Leave a Reply

