Welcomed Excitement

There have been many perks to being done with school. I could go on and on about how much better things are now that I am finished getting my degree, but one instance stood out to me recently and I felt that it was worth talking about. As some of you know, I will be leaving for Puerto Rico one week from today for a lovely vacation.

For those of you who don’t know, Nick and I are being sent to Puerto Rico as a ‘Thank You’ from Hustler Turf to Woodward’s Outdoor Equipment for meeting the HT annual sale quota. The trip is scheduled for the 25th-29th and Nick and I decided to stay a few extra days to really make the most of our time down there. I am absolutely going to talk about our trip in more detail, but for now, I want to talk about this amazing moment I had the other day.

As someone who likes to have their ducks in a row as often as possible, I’ve felt a little awkward so far since our flights, hotel, etc. have been planned for us. It actually wasn’t until a few days ago that we really got the meat of the information about what’s going on. But the second I started looking through our itinerary and excursion selection, I felt something incredibly common to many, but oh so foreign to me.

When I look back to last year, when Nick and I were preparing to leave for Aruba, I knew that I was looking forward to the trip, but that feeling of it “hitting me” never actually came. I was so preoccupied with finishing out my semester and all the stresses that came with it, that I found myself rather nonchalant during the days leading up to the trip. I was incredibly happy to be going on this tropical vacation with my boyfriend and I knew that we would have an amazing time (and we most certainly did), but I think many people can relate to stress being a dominant force and just taking over everything else.

This year is a completely different story. 

I began looking at the list of excursion options we were given to choose from and then began searching online for others in order to tackle more of the things we want to do. I was practically bouncing out of my damn seat, I was so excited. Since then, we’ve put in reservation requests, booked an amazing excursion, planned out our time a bit, got our luggage all set (not packed, obviously), and I even got 2 new bathing suits for the occasion.

What the heck is the moral of this story? To find myself no longer dominated by such negative feelings is beautiful. Trust me; I am not stress free. I’ve had some rough days recently haha. But the dominant forces in my life right now seem to be calm, optimism, and love. I am excited to be so excited about my trip and I feel incredibly fortunate to find myself where I am. When we got to Aruba, I was in 7th heaven, but it took a little work to get stress off and keep it off my mind so that I could be there in each moment to savor our time. Hopefully I can avoid that work this time around and dive right in.

This post isn’t about getting a great trip. It’s about finding myself in a place in life where I can see more than the negativity that has dominated much of my outlook for so long. Life isn’t always calm or loving and certainly not always optimistic, but it’s important to remember to bask in the light when it is.

And that, my dears.. is my tiny two cents.

2 thoughts on “Welcomed Excitement

Leave a Reply

