Not Through a Screen: Part 1

I am trying something new this morning: a 2 part post in different sections of my blog. I am doing this because the topic blends the two together in a way that I don’t want to separate. One of my ongoing goals is to distance myself from technology, but in Part 1, I won’t be talking about that specifically; I want to give my Two Cents on the subject first.

I am a big fan of technology. Any time there is an advancement, it’s exciting and rather brilliant. But it also scares me quite a bit. I don’t want to live my life in front of a screen. Granted, I am on a computer now. I work on one all day. I told you, I am a fan, but I would rather use it in a better way.

When I am not working or blogging, I am a serial Facebook and Pinterest Surfer. I love being on Pinterest because I find it relaxing and there are plenty of interesting pins that are relevant to my life and the things I enjoy. But a few months back I saw something that changed my outlook completely. It was a series of images with people on their devices, but the devices had been removed. There are many videos on this topic that are really captivating, but those images grabbed me more than anything. It was something that I could then do every day—see people on their electronics and just take those things away. Focus on the person. And see the empty, blank stare.

The first time I did so, I was at a friend’s house. We were all hanging out, having a good time, and suddenly, the phones were out. Of course we were showing one another funny pictures or videos to start, but then when my phone was put away (because there is really only so much my phone can do) I realized the room was silent. There they stood, motionless, entranced by their phones. Not even realizing that 10 minutes had gone by and no words were spoken. I can’t describe the feeling, but it stuck with me.

I think back to my best moments of my life. To times when I felt my happiest. Phones and cameras may have been there, but they were certainly not the source of that happiness. No, I am not attempting to relinquish technology for good because I recognize that, in our evolving society, to not stay “up to date” puts you at a disadvantage, but I do believe there is a time and a place and I would love to continue seeing my world though those device-removing glasses.

Life is about living, and no, not through a screen. It’s about interactions and connections and shared experiences. There is so much of this beautiful world out there and, while technological advancements are truly mind blowing and inspiring, we still need to keep our feet on the ground and our eyes on our lives going on around us.

6 thoughts on “Not Through a Screen: Part 1

  1. jerrydairy56 says:

    Nice post…
    For me, a prime example of this was the nite of my B’Day – when we were all sitting around ‘trash talking’… An occasional pix may have been taken, but, for the most part, it was about 4 hours of all of us actually ‘being together’. A time, hopefully, I won’t forget!!

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    How can you, at your tender age, in the height and midst of this electronic revolution… be SOOO insightful??? Very proud of you Kate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

