The (not so) Big 2-4!

Yesterday was my 24th birthday (woo!). I spent the weekend making sure I took time to see friends, spend time with Nick, and I’m happy to say I also took time out for me. Friday night was great because I got to see a dear friend’s show at Tyler and in the process, got to see a lot of friends that I have not seen in a while. I left feeling as I usually do: missing spending time with my friends who are now all over the place.

Saturday, I got up nice and early to spend a snowy day with Nick at his job. I cut out at 11 to treat myself to a facial at the local spa and absolutely loved it. Also got my nails done—something I do often, but always a treat. Nick met me there after work and we went home to relax for the evening. Nick gave me my gifts early because he is terrible with surprises—a baking pan set and a KitchenAid Standing Mixer we’ve named Esmerelda. I’ve already made banana bread with her!!

Sunday was very exciting. I got to go to the Baltimore Aquarium with Nick. It was my first time going to an aquarium ever. We had a really nice day there, though the crowds were bugging me. We got to see a dolphin show that was really quite awesome. While I hate seeing any animal in captivity, it’s very cool to see how intelligent and sweet natured they are. It’s still a bucket list item of mine to go swimming with dolphins at some point.

After the aquarium, we made our way to lunch with two of our really great and wonderful friends who took time out of their busy schedules to spend a little time with us for my birthday. We went to Birroteca in Baltimore. I had a delicious personal pizza and Nick and I shared a Nutella Cheesecake for dessert. It’s always great seeing them and, coming from a person who was nonexistent during school, it meant a lot that they met up with us.

dinner_out

Delicious lunch/dinner with Brittney and Adam

Saturday night, Nicholas had a hockey game and I was wiped, so I stayed home. It was an early night for us since the day was quite long. I had Monday off, so I got up early, spent a little time relaxing, but didn’t want to waste the day away, so after a few phone calls for my B-day and baking, I set out to spend some Christmas gift cards. I got a blouse from Macy’s that I wore to dinner last night (forgot to take pictures, whoops) and a bunch of jewelry and two small purses from Charming Charlie. Managed to not spend my whole gift card there and I got some really great pieces to add to my large collection.

We went to dinner at this really cute hole-in-the-wall Italian restaurant in Wilmington and were stuffed by the time our entrees came out. So luckily, I had delicious chicken parm for lunch. I had a wonderful weekend and couldn’t have asked for much more.

So now for those two cents… I don’t want this post to end on a depressing note, but it’s something I thought of multiple times this weekend and feel is important to mention. I didn’t go to Nick’s game because I was tired and didn’t feel like sitting in a cold rink. While he says it’s not a big deal, it was his team’s championship game that they went on to win. Fact is: I should have been there. There was another event this weekend that I should have been there for and I wasn’t because it was “inconvenient.”

I’ve been working harder at being there for people when they need me, regardless of how it may inconvenience me. But I dropped the ball this weekend and, while I don’t think anyone involved is hung up on it, it was a swift kick to remind me of how important the people in my life are. I was actually reminded of that when I realized how much it hurt not to hear from certain people yesterday. Sometimes life gets in the way and we can’t be there all the time for everyone. But it’s important to not forget the little things we can do and to try to make the big things work to the best of our ability. I ultimately want to be the kind of person I want in my own life.

I had a wonderful birthday this year and it’s because I have wonderful people surrounding me. I am incredibly grateful to have such a strong network of friends and family. So here is to working harder at being there for the people I love and to an amazing year as a 24 year old!

Leave a Reply

