Living My Yoga

This is a very exciting day for me as I’m currently writing my second post for the day! Considering the goal I set for myself this morning was to work on trying to optimize my downtime, I figured now is as good a time to start as any!

Not long ago, I wrote a post about a comment that was made to me by someone I love dearly that caught me in my tracks and made me realize there is significant work to be done. So I took some time to figure out a path because I don’t think doing something on a whim would be for the best. Through my exploration of ways to work on this personal growth, I realized other things I need as well.

The beauty of this goal is that the end result may change as I move forward. The steps I am taking are also allowing me to fulfill my other goal of getting away from technology by providing me with alternative activities. Talk about a sweet deal. So what is the goal? I am genuinely seeking to Live my Yoga.

I am absolutely interested in the physical benefits of yoga and the sense of peace I leave with every time. However, I’ve done yoga before and that’s usually where it ended. But I wanted this time to be different. I wanted to extend my practice to my every day routine and have taken to quite a few different things in order to achieve this:

  • Writing:
    • I write in my journal to reflect on my day-to-day experiences and process my emotions
    • I’m keeping a yoga/meditation journal to log my progress, successes, and challenges
  • Reading:
    • I am no expert on yoga, so as part of my practice, I am starting to read books to help me deepen my understanding. Right now, I am reading Living Your Yoga: Finding the Spiritual in Every Day Life by Judith Hanson Lasater and it is exactly what it sounds like. But it’s more than just words on a page. It’s things you can actually do in order to take your practice into every day life. I haven’t gotten far, but I love it already.
  • Yoga:
    • I found a class I can attend weekly in addition to trying other classes/instructors at the studio (more to come on that)
    • (One I am struggling with) I would like to increase the amount of yoga I do at home, even if it’s just a 10 minute flow first thing in the morning
  • Meditation:
    • Also trying to increase the consistency with which I meditate. There is a quote I’ve seen quite a bit that is perfect for me:

You should sit in meditation for 20 minutes a day, unless you are too busy; then you should sit for an hour.” 

I am trying to take care of myself through this process so that I may become more calm, especially in times of stress, and learn how to better live in the moment. I am a highly organized person and it’s a quality I love, but I walk a fine line between organized and controlling sometimes. I want to be present in my life and relinquish the desire to control when it’s really not necessary. I think it will improve my quality of life and help me in my relationships with others.

There will absolutely be more to come on this topic, but for now I will leave it at that. I feel good about this endeavor and I’m really excited to see this start to take off. So until next time!

Namaste

4 thoughts on “Living My Yoga

  1. Pingback: Tiny Two Cents

Leave a Reply

