Make Some Time

In light of my recent endeavors to immerse myself more in yoga on and off the mat, I’ve spoken to a number of people who’ve been curious about it and getting their reactions, and have come to a common theme and thus throwing in my two cents on the subject of “making time” this morning.

This is something I’ve noticed in my own life that I’ve heard others say about their own: there is something or multiple things that they would like to do, say hobbies to pick up, daily actions to add to their routine, or something of the like, but haven’t made the time for. This was my curse for a long time. I wanted to start doing so many things for myself and what those things were/are is irrelevant to this post; what is relevant is getting up and doing them.

I am very fortunate to work from home. That means my 9-5 is just like anyone else’s, minus having lunch on my couch and a 10 step commute, but other than that, those 8 hours are just as long, just as busy, sometimes stressful; it’s work. However, when my day begins, I walk to my office just outside my kitchen and when the day is done, I can shut down and walk out of the room and be “home.” Which leaves me with some extra time in my day.

But I know what it’s like to be busy and to feel like there is no time for myself. However, there usually is and we just don’t pay close enough attention to see it. Taking time to do something for you, whether it’s that hobby, or giving a friend a call, or making a better breakfast for yourself in the morning, is important. It may require some adjustments in your schedule or swapping of activities, though. If you spend your evening watching TV, surfing endlessly on your computer or mobile device, or bingeing in Netflix, guess what, you have some time. Even taking 15 minutes before bed to do whatever is highest on your list of things you never get done but want to, try it out. Consciously make the decision to put everything else down and make it happen.

While this is probably a little deep for some of the things people may want to do, I will always go back to this quote from a dear friend of mine:

Dreams do come true, but you have to make them happen.

We man the controls in our lives. If you want to do or try something, find the will to do it. Doing something because you have to is a part of life, but doing things for yourself is a choice and it’s one we should pay more attention to. It could be simple, it could be huge, but it’s something just for you and taking that time for you will always be revolutionary.

And that, my dears.. is my tiny two cents.

2 thoughts on “Make Some Time

  1. Pingback: Tiny Two Cents

Leave a Reply

