Feeling like Me

I made a nice compromise this morning: I wanted to write in my blog; however, I really wanted to prolong the time I spent out of my office before work. So I opted to sit in my morning chair with the slider open to the sounds of a beautiful morning since I commandeered Nick’s laptop to write.

Consistency is important when you are trying to reach a goal. I know that very well. So I wanted to find a yoga instructor at Tulaa whose class I could attend weekly in order to have that consistency and grow. The Wednesday night class I found was love at first breath. Now, I have taken a few other classes and have liked all the instructors thus far, but something clicked with Anne right off the bat. When we met before class, she noticed that I was wearing my InMotion jacket and asked if I was a dancer. I told her most teachers figure that out during class, but that I was in fact a dancer, though long out of practice.

Right away the class felt right. The people were really pleasant and outgoing, the energy was one that was lively, yet peaceful, and so ready to work. The asanas themselves seemed tailored perfectly to me and what my body was craving. We moved into a Three-Legged Dog and she came up, tapped my shoulder and whispered, “That’s where I would have known.” I’ve only taken two classes with her and I can’t tell you how many times she’s exclaimed “dancer!!” or “there’s my dancer!!”

Her class is all the things I am looking for. I get the deep stretches, challenging asanas, the peaceful connection, and the full body workout. I leave a tired, sweaty mess with my muscles shaking, but I feel absolutely wonderful and she inspires me to push further. After our first class, she and I were talking and she seemed so excited to get to know me, my body, my practice, and begin to really push me where I needed to go (it’s also a comfort knowing she is a physical therapist). Second class, she did just that. If she saw or knew something would be too easy, she gave myself and a couple of other people modifications to deepen the stretch or make it more challenging. It was great to feel so cared for and not like just another body in the room.

I couldn’t pursue dance the way I had always wanted to. I had so many factors that influenced my decision to not do so and, in the end, I don’t think my body would have been able to handle it. There are no studios for adults around me—the closest is in Philadelphia and I have neither the time nor the money to make that trip regularly. But something I have come to learn is that when I am not dancing, a part of me is missing.

Going to that class? It was the first time I’ve felt like me in a long time. I feel like Kat the Dancer and Kat the Yogi have merged and it’s something that’s celebrated. I would like to find one more class to take regularly a week because I leave Wednesday night wanting more and I think that while I practice at home, another structured class with another instructor would do me good and bring some variation into my practice.

This has been an incredible journey so far and my Living My Yoga goal has already made a significant difference in my everyday life. I feel lighter and ready to take on each day as the blessing it is. I can’t wait to see how this develops and how I develop along with it. I truly encourage people to take some time and think about the things they want to do in their life. We can find so much fulfillment in committing to doing something we’ve wanted to start or continue. This goes back to my post from the other day, but really: find what you want to do with your time and make it happen. Take the leap and go all in. You may be surprised at how much impact it could have.

Namaste

2 thoughts on “Feeling like Me

  1. Susan says:

    Love reading your posts, Kat. I love a class that balances pranayama, mudra, mantra, and asanas. When I find the right instructor it is bliss. I find inner balance and peace. Can’t wait to practice with you at the beach.

    Like

    • katinrome says:

      I can’t wait either! I’ve been itching to get down to the beach to visit you guys and take some classes. Just need a weekend where Nick isn’t playing a million games!! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

