Remove the Filler

I tried something new this morning: I was feeling like I would like to do a blog entry first thing, so I started up my computer and where I would normally open Gmail or Facebook, I came right here.

So many of the things we have on our to-do lists or would like to-do lists get pushed to the back burner. That creates obvious issues for things we really need to get done, but what about the things we would like to do? Doesn’t it seem odd that even those end up getting pushed back? Is that just me? Maybe it isn’t such a common situation for others, but I know it constantly happens to me and I am starting to pay closer attention.

I have many hobbies and activities I enjoy doing: yoga, dance, writing, reading, baking, the list goes on. But even when I find I have time to do those things, something else gets in the way; I call them my fillers. The almost automated, go-to things to do that end up eating up all of my free time. If you’ve read my blog before, you may have an idea of what some of those things are; it’s usually the “lost behind a screen” items that suck you in for hours on end.

It’s really easy to lose sight of the activities that you enjoy because, let’s face it, they may require a little more effort than just sitting down and watching 3 hours of Gilmore Girls. We gravitate towards the “easy” fillers—the ones requiring minimal effort—because we can power up to turn off.

Now, that is my situation. Some people may gravitate towards other things and others may not have this problem at all. But I think in many aspects of our lives, we can benefit from cutting out the fillers. If there is something you need to do, sit down and do it (or get up and do it). If there is something you want to do, same deal. Don’t let your fillers get in the way. Be mindful of your choices and make the ones that you’ll be the most satisfied with in the end.

And that, my dears.. is my tiny two cents.

Leave a Reply

